Product of the week: Mayonnaise with a hint of wasabi

Just when you think you’ve heard it all Hellmann’s joins in.

For me, mayonnaise has always been used as a ‘coolant’ after a hot snack but now even mayonnaise is getting a spicy twist. Hellmann’s has introduced two new flavours – Mayonnaise with a twist of wasabi and Mayonnaise with a twist of pepper.

I saw this on the shelf as I did my supermarket shop and I just had to try it. Firstly, don’t expect the mayonnaise to be tinged green. It looks like regular mayonnaise which is why I’ve now had to warn everyone in my house that it exists in our fridge.

Don’t get too worried though. Although you can taste the wasabi it is a subtle taste. Hellmann’s has also given two recipes to try the sauce in. For the wasabi flavour it’s salmon with a hint of wasabi which I have yet to try but sounds delicious.

Don’t be afraid to try this sauce. It’s not as scary as it sounds and the contrasting flavours work surprisingly well together.

 

Leave a Reply

