Egg and Lentil Curry

Egg and Lentil Curry

Adapted from Delia Smith’s How to Cook Egg and Lentil Curry. This was the first cookbook I ever owned. My mum gave it to me when I started my Food Technology GCSE back in 2004. I was 14. I’ve kept the book and used it ever since but this is the first time I’ve used this recipe.

Before anyone mentions it, yes I use Very Lazy products. Not because I’m lazy but because they keep longer. I used to buy fresh garlic, ginger and chilli but I never used it up in time because I usually only cook for one or two people at a time. So to reduce waste I use these or similar products. When I harvest my chillies I will be freezing some to make sure they keep longer.

chilli2

Serves 1

  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 cardamom pod, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp dried coriander
  • Dollop of lime pickle
  • 1/2 tsp Very Lazy Red Chilli
  • 1 tsp Very Lazy Garlic
  • 1/2 tsp Very Lazy Grated Ginger
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • Zest of half a lime
  • 40g green lentils
  • 200ml creamed coconut
  • 1 egg

In a large saucepan heat the oil. Fry the onion until soft. Add the chilli, garlic, ginger, lime pickle and turmeric. Stir in the spices. Add the lentils, creamed coconut and lime zest.

curry

Bring to a simmer, cover and cook on a low heat for 35 minutes – stirring occasionally. Meanwhile cook your rice. Boil your egg before the end of the cooking time.

Serve the curry on a bed of rice. Remove the egg’s shell and slice in half. Place on top of the curry. Serve with lime wedges and lime pickle.

Try some other curry recipes:

Spicy sausage curry

Chilli carrot and mangetout curry 

Simple Thai Curry

Low-fat chicken jalfrezi

Leave a Reply

