Woking Food and Drink Festival

Jo Wheatley's cooking demonstration
Jo Wheatley’s cooking demonstration

Today I went to the very first Woking Food and Drink Festival and believe it or not, it was my first time at a food festival!

I’m always jotting down dates in my diary but unfortunately I’m either busy on the day or they are just too far away. Luckily this one was less than a 30 minute drive.

Woking Food and Drink Festival
Woking Food and Drink Festival

This festival consisted of around 40 exhibitors ranging from kitchenware, cake stalls, breweries and stalls showcasing food from around the world.

There were live cooking demonstrations from professional chefs and Jo Wheatley from the Great British Bake Off, plus several competitions including a baking competition, BBQ cook-off and burger challenge. Unfortunately the prize for the bake-off competition takes place when I’m on holiday and I missed the entry time for the burger competition. With BBQ not being my strong point I decided to come along just for the show (and free tasters!).

My chicken curry from Raysindian
My chicken curry from Raysindian

There was plenty of choice but naturally I headed for the curry stalls and stopped for a medium-spiced chicken curry for lunch at Raysindian who serve authentic Indian street food.

I also got to try one of the hottest chutneys I’ve ever come across. The Evil Chilli Chutney produced by Jamtasticks is unlike any chutney I’ve ever tasted and twice as hot.

Harry's Hot Chillies' stall
Harry’s Hot Chillies’ stall

It was as if the organisers knew I was coming as the very last stall was Harry’s Hot Chillies selling chilli sauces and chilli plants. I never got a chance to try their hottest sauce ‘The Surrey Scorcher’ but hopefully I’ll get my hands on it in future.

Jo Wheatley's cake

I also got to catch a glimpse of Jo Wheatley’s cooking demonstration where she showed off her cake decorating skills. She also judged the Bake Off competition and will offer the winner a place on one of her cookery classes.

Leave a Reply

