Product of the week: Firecracker chilli from My Secret Kitchen

wpid-DSC_0469.jpg

wpid-DSC_0474.jpg

Christmas is almost here  and I’ve already been receiving a few Christmas presents from people who know me all too well. My favourite so far is this pack of spices called ‘Firecracker’ from the Secret Spices collection of My Secret Kitchen.

The well-filled packet contains an original blend of not just chilli but garlic, ginger, Mexican oregano, red peppers and cayenne peppers. Just a quarter of a teaspoon can be used to replace a small red pepper.

This was a nice change to the usual paprika, chilli flakes and cayenne pepper I have in my cupboard. It was great to have all my favourite spices rolled into one – making life a lot easier. It also gave a delicious flavour to my food instead of making it so spicy I couldn’t taste it which has happened with other chilli spice mixes I’ve tried in the past.

You can add to mayonnaise to make a creamy chilli dip or whip up a spicy salsa. I decided to try it with a new recipe: Vegetable goulash.

Vegetable goulash

chilli2

Serves 2

  • 1 small onion, chopped finely
  • 1/2 garlic, crushed
  • 1 carrot, cut into small chunks
  • 1 potato, cut into small chunks
  • 1/4 cauliflower, cut florets in half
  • 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp My Secret Kitchen’s Firecracker spices
  • 1 tbsp plain flour
  • 1/2 vegetable stock cube
  • 200g chopped tomatoes
  • Seasoning and soured cream to serve

Once you’ve finished preparing all the vegetables, heat the oil in a large saucepan and gently cook the garlic and onion until soft. Sprinkle over the Firecracker spices and add the flour. Stir well.

Make the stock with the stock cube and 300ml of boiling water. Wait until it dissolves and then add to the pan. Add the tomatoes, carrots, potatoes and cauliflower. Season and bring to the boil. Lower the heat and put a lid on the pan. Simmer gently for 20-25 minutes until the vegetables are cooked.

Ladle the goulash out into bowls and top with a tablespoon of the soured cream. Sprinkle over some more Firecracker spice  and serve.

wpid-DSC_0478.jpg

This isn’t the first spicy product I’ve tried from My Secret Kitchen. Have a look at what I thought of their Jumping Jack Chilli Jam.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

