Product of the week: Maggi Malaysian Extra Hot Chilli Sauce

wpid-DSC_0449.jpg

chilli2

My first product review of 2014 is this hot sauce which I received as a Christmas present.

The sauce is made in Malaysia using freshly grown chillies, plus  ginger, garlic, tomato paste, onion, sugar and other flavourings.

As described on the bottle, this is a very versatile sauce. In fact, I’m finding more uses for it daily. So far I’ve used it as a table sauce, a sandwich spread, a dip and to spice up a stew.

The one downside to this sauce is despite being labelled “Extra hot” it is actually quite mild for me compared to other sauces. That has, however, made it easier to use with almost everything I’ve cooked.

Where can I buy?

Maggi is available from Asda (£1.19) and Tesco (£1.49) supermarkets in the UK . If you’re looking for more recipes to try this sauce in there are several on the website including Fiery Crabs and Squid Dried Chillies. You can also find more Maggi products including Maggi Thai Chilli Sauce.

Maggi Chilli sauce
It almost looks like sweet chilli sauce but I use it more like ketchup
3 Comments Add yours

  1. mysweatyshirt says:

    Our favorite! Maggie Chilli sauce is a seller from the beginning. 🙂

  2. David Wattts says:

    This is a very, very mild chilli sauce – how anyone can claim its hot, never mind extra hot is impossible – except for promoting a product with false declaration.

    1. meganchapple says:

      I agree, this sauce is very mild. Like I said in my post it’s more like ketchup than hot sauce. Not sure if the last part of your post was directed at me or not but nothing on my blog is paid for. This is all just a hobby I do in my free time

Leave a Reply

