Chorizo and bean pasta sauce with Pequin chillies

 

 

 

image

I’ve received my first Christmas present of the year (I think everyone is aware that I’m chilli obsessed). This is the first time I’ve tried pequin chillies and I’ve never seen peppers so tiny. I’ve been adding these small hot chillies whole to the frying pan whenever I’m cooking. They release a hot smokey flavour.

Serves 2

  • 1 tsp garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 small red onion, sliced
  • 2 tsp pequin chillies, whole
  • 400g cannellini beans
  • 1 red pepper, sliced
  • 80g chorizo
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 400g chopped tomatoes
  • Enough penne pasta for two people
  • Parmesan to serve

Fry the garlic, red onion and chillies until the onion is soft. Add in the red pepper and fry for a further 2 minutes. Then add the chorizo and fry for a further minute.

wp-1449777499138.jpg

 

Add the beans, oregano and chopped tomatoes. Simmer for 10 minutes. In the meantime cook the pasta to the packet instructions.

wp-1449777488784.jpg

Serve and top with Parmesan (if you have any).

wp-1449777481568.jpg

Leave a Reply

