Sausage and quinoa chilli

wp-1450379471673.jpg

This will be my last post of 2015 so firstly I’d like to wish you a merry Christmas and happy New Year.

I’m moving house in the next few days and so my Christmas is going to be particularly busy and I’d like to come back in 2016 feeling refreshed and ready to give you loads more recipes and reviews. To prove it, today I even took the plunge and signed up to my first chilli eating contest! I have until the 18th June to ‘train’.

With the move I’m trying to get through as much stuff in my kitchen cupboards as possible which is how this odd concoction came about. Something new, easy and surprisingly delicious. I’ve discovered a love of quinoa and have been adding it to all sorts of foods.

wp-1450379459786.jpg

Serves 2

  • 3 sausages, chopped
  • 1 tbsp Pequin chillies
  • 1 green pepper, sliced
  • 1 packet of read-to-eat quinoa
  • 1 can of baked beans
  • 1 tsp turmeric

Fry the sausages with the chillies for five minutes until the sausages are brown all over. Add the peppers and fry for a further five minutes until the peppers are soft.

wp-1450379477975.jpg

Turn the heat right down. Add the quinoa and baked beans. Give it a good stir and cook on a very low heat for 10 minutes until heated through – stirring occasionally (you may need to add water if it gets too dry). Stir in the turmeric and add some seasoning. It’s ready!

wp-1450379465756.jpg

See you in 2016!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

