Scorpion stuffed peppers

So I’m still very much into this whole quinoa craze (despite only realising it’s pronounced ‘Keen-wa’ a few days ago). I’ve been having it for lunch, a side for dinner or as an alternative for meat. Now I’m stuffing it into my veggies!

But it was time to make quinoa a bit more exciting so I had a hunt around in my spice collection. Lo and behold I found some Moruga Scorpion powder from www.spicemountain.co.uk. No idea how it got there, but I’ll ask questions later.

I opened this tiny pot and took a sniff, sneezed seven times, and I knew then it was a hottie. Perfect!

image

chilli4

Serves 2

  • 2 bell peppers, cut in half and all seeds removed
  • 75g quinioa, cooked
  • 200g black-eyed beans, from can and drained
  • 200g sweetcorn, from can and drained
  • 2 spring onions, chopped
  • 100g salsa
  • 1tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • Pinch/1/4tsp Moruga Scorpion powder

Place the peppers, skin side down on a baking tray and preheat the oven to 180C.

wp-1455044894930.jpg

In a large bowl mix the cooked quinoa, black-eyed beans, sweetcorn, spring onion, salsa, cumin, paprika and Moruga together.

wp-1455044857562.jpg

wp-1455044849172.jpg

Generously fill the pepper halves with the mixture – pushing down to fill fully.

wp-1455044840976.jpg

Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake for a further 10 minutes.

wp-1455044819041.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

